Long Distance Relationships ….

Entering into a long distance relationship (LDR) may be one of the best decisions of your life, but equally it may be one of the hardest choices you can make. I myself am currently in a LDR with my girlfriend, who has flown to Minnesota for 4 months so she can do Camp America. (She is literally over 4000 miles away, across the ocean and with a 6 hour time difference).

 My girlfriend and I had been together for just under 4 months before she flew out to Minnesota. She had already had the trip planned before we met, so there was nothing I could do to change it. We had multiple arguments about it before she went away, but at the end of the day it is such a fantastic opportunity for her. Honestly, letting her go was the hardest thing I think I have ever done. I went to the airport with her mum, brother and sister to drop her off. That last hug I gave her with tears falling down my face and every inch of my body not wanting to let go, was the most heart breaking experience of my life. I kept telling myself that everything was going to be okay, that I wouldn’t miss her too much and that everything would be fine.

 I was pretty much wrong about everything. I miss her every single day, she’s the first thought on my mind in the morning and the last thought on my mind before I go to sleep. Nothing has been fine since she’s been away either. Unfortunately for me, my life has turned into a series of unfortunate events and everything that could go wrong, has gone wrong. The only person that I want to turn to is my girlfriend, but I can’t. It is difficult, but I would never ever let her go because of that difficulty.

We have had numerous arguments over the silliest of things, whether it’s not replying to a message, or not saying ‘I love you’ back… trust me these arguments are stupid! But at the same time, hearing her voice will make my heart race, and being able to see her on FaceTime, well that brings a smile to my face that takes hours to disappear. We are lucky enough to be able to talk daily, even if only a quick text. Despite that though, my girlfriend has sent letters home for me to read and keep (and cry over). I’m currently building her a shoebox of her favourite things to post out to her!

 I guess the point of this blog post is to explain that although a LDR is incredibly hard and lacking the physical comfort your partner can give you, doesn’t necessarily mean that an LDR isn’t worth it. So many people will end a relationship when their partner has to leave for whatever reason, but I can assure you that maintaining a LDR is incredibly rewarding. Being able to count down the days until you see your partner, or writing them love letters, it keeps the spark and the romance alive. If you genuinely love your partner, then no matter how hard a LDR may be, I can assure you will be worth it in the end.

F, Hatfield, 17                                                                              Supported by Youth Connexions

 

